Posted on

is it legal to grow your own marijuana in colorado

Is it legal to grow your own marijuana in colorado

A first-time conviction of growing more than 12 plants is a level 1 drug petty offense under Colorado state law, punishable by up to $1,000.

Waiting time to seal records

4. How do I fight the charges?

Colorado law permits adults 21 and older to grow up to 6 marijuana plants, with no more than 3 being mature plants. Homes with two or more adults can have no more than 12 marijuana plants. A first-time offense of possessing more than 12 plants is a level 1 drug petty offense, punishable by up to $1,000.

But if there were more than 24 plants, a subsequent illegal cultivation offense is a class 3 drug felony. The sentence is two-to-four years in Colorado State Prison and/or fines of $2,000 to $500,000. But the prison term becomes four-to-six years if there are aggravating factors. Examples are if the defendant was:

7. Can I be deported?

MIP conviction

Is it legal to grow your own marijuana in colorado

Still, it’s not like home growers can call a Colorado State University extension agent for growing advice; those experts are prohibited from answering any questions related to marijuana. Even though Amendment 64 specifically allows advice on growing marijuana, greenhouse and nursery staff often shy away from the subject.

LAFAYETTE, CO – DECEMBER 16 : Ben Holmes at his Centennial Seeds where he is licensed to cultivate marijuana seeds for Colorado growers on Monday, December 16, 2013. He was holding a collection of 8,000 heirloom Nepalese Highland Sativa seeds.

Archambault: I don’t advise new growers to start right in with hydroponics. That means spending at least $1,000 on equipment, and that’s a lot for a beginner. And you’re out all that money if you’re not successful.